The Lazarus Conundrum (Tomes of the Dead)

Posted: November 9, 2015 in Published fiction

Friday was a bit of a red letter day for me, as it was the day my novella The Lazarus Conundrum was published by Abaddon Books. When I first submitted my idea, way back towards the start of the year, I could only hope that my idea would be picked, but I knew even then that I’d be up against stiff competition. Getting the email back saying my story was one of three that were chosen to be published was a wonderful, and yes, slightly scary, thing,but mainly wonderful.

Writing The Lazarus Conundrum was a lot of fun, it was hard work, and just occasionally frustrating when I couldn’t get the words to say what I wanted them to say, but I wouldn’t have missed the ride for the world.

There’s a very interesting interview with David Thomas Moore, the commissioning editor at Abaddon, over at BRSBKBLOG where he talks about the open submission call, how the original 70 submissions were whittled down to just three (including yours truly’s). It’s a fascinating read and I’m not just saying that because he says nice things about my idea…

There’s also an interview with ME over at the Civilian Reader blog

Clipboard011“In a world where the dead routinely return to life, the most shocking mystery is when someone doesn’t.

Detective Inspector Helen Ogilvy is called to the scene of a murder. A young woman named Trinity Brown has been shot in the chest, and she’s stayed dead.

The potential end to the zombie affliction should be a huge positive, but for a future UK teetering on the brink of becoming a police state, a country where healthcare has never been so well funded because lower mortality rates equal fewer zombies, the truth behind Trinity Brown’s non-resurrection has the potential to cause chaos, which is why a shadowy Government figure has persuaded Helen’s boss to keep a lid on what’s happened, at least for the moment.

Now Helen has two days to solve two mysteries. Who killed Trinity Brown, and why did she stay dead?”

You can download The Lazarus Conundrum from Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.com and all other Amazon sites for a very reasonable price!

Comments
  1. Hurrah!
    Glad to see it’s finally out in the world 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.